Events

BACK TO OVERVIEW

08 July 2014

TTIP webinar series: TTIP and GMOs

US-based online TTIP seminar

July 8, 2014
9:00 CST / 10:00 EST /16:00 CET 
Register now.

On June 16, USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack cautioned European Union members against raising health or safety risks when banning the cultivation of genetically modified organisms (GMOs). The debate over GMOs is intensifying as agribusiness on both sides of the Atlantic attempt to  weaken standards on genetically modified organisms and their labeling through a new trade agreement.

For civil society movements in the EU and the U.S., labeling is a burning issue. Labeling campaigns are already underway in 26 U.S. states. In the EU, civil society is fighting the introduction of new varieties and imports of GM feed. The Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) is the forum where corporate interests seek to derail these movements. Please join us for a webinar to learn about the trade, food safety and consumer issues involved in this debate.

Speakers:
  • Mute Schimpf, Food Campaigner at Friends of the Earth Europe
  • Debbie Barker, International Director at the Center for Food Safety

The webinar will be moderated by Karen Hansen-Kuhn at the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy. Questions are welcome, either in advance at khk@iatp.org or during the webinar via the GoToWebinar system.

This is the second in a series of webinars on TTIP, agriculture and food systems. A recording of the first webinar, Trade rules for poultry and pork: safe for whom? Is available at http://www.iatp.org/video/trade-rules-for-poultry-and-pork-safe-for-whom.

Register now.

Please share!

Comments

Your comment

^